This morning while walking Roxie I was rushing around until I smelt that lovely smell of wet, decompositioning leaves and stopped dead in my tracks. MMMMM. I had one of those smelly flashbacks to the woods behind my house as a wee lass just upturning every pile of leaves I could find and when I would turn over rotting logs to find salamanders, they were sticky wet and wiggled to escape my grasp and I loved that feeling, does Illinois have Salamanders? Thanks google for the correct answer – YES and they look like THIS. Sick. Anyhow, its that sweet smelling fresh dirt – not the poop kind.. I know you know what I’m talking and have probably already enjoyed that smell this season but I’ve managed to be too busy to turn over a few damp leaves so if you haven’t – Stop and smell the wet leaves won’t you?

Also this morning on 103.1 there was a DREXCLUSIVE playing the whole new Britney album that doesn’t evening come out for a few more months and I foudn myself excited for a moment – What? Has my fascination with celebrity fuck-ups finally ruined me the way Mark says it will? I briefly considered staying in the car to listen to it a bit longer but upon arrival to the thrift store I just turned off the car forgetting I was even listening to anything. Close call…

Along that note – I’ve been remembering how exciting it used to feel to go see music live, I’m talking even bigger than that punk show feeling- I’m talking STADIUM EVENTS! With superstars you’d been waiting months to see and you didn’t care that seats were $50 and you were in the back because your Mom bought them! John(shout out to the only person who reads my blog!) and Cindy went to St Louis for Bob Dylan and Elvis Costello yesterday and their post-concert afterglow left me quite jealous. I don’t even think I like music enough these days.. but damn I miss it.

Leave a Reply

